My Christmas Discovery…

“How many kings step down from their thrones?
How many lords abandon their homes?
How many Greats become the Least for me?
How many gods pour out their hearts
to romance a world that is falling apart?
How many fathers gave up their sons for me?

Only one did that for me.”

Those are the lyrics to the chorus of a song that I discovered this Christmas. It’s by a band called Downhere. What a powerful Christmas message!

We are having a great holiday! Our weekend was full of travels, visiting friends and family. We went to a gathering of Josh’s old college buddies…

100_3947

We stayed with my “old chum” Emily…

100_3960

We went to my cousin Nathan’s wedding…

100_3994

…And we visited with Josh’s friend Shannon and his new family.

100_4032

After an agonizing late night drive home (we’re too old to do stuff like that!), Christmas was much more peaceful.

The Sunday before Christmas, Ava got to wear her Christmas Dress that the church librarian found her in a consignment shop…

100_4051

We had a great time with both of our families on Christmas Eve at our house…

100_4068

And even had some time for light-hunting afterwards!

100_4074

(This is most definitely the most impressive house in our vicinity!)

And here it is…my kid proof Christmas!

100_4078

(I think I will patent it and sell it!) I experimented with Christmas tree photography, you can catch some more pictures on Facebook in a few days.

Christmas morning we were at our house, then we did lunch at my parents and dinner with Josh’s parents. I think it’s safe to say that Ava’s favorite present were her door knob covers…

100_4104

(She didn’t really need any toys or clothes, so her stocking was full of baby-proofing supplies.)

Wednesday I did some visiting with friends from high school, and yesterday, I FINALLY got to begin putting our house back in order! Christmas is great, but wrapping it up is, too!

2 thoughts on “My Christmas Discovery…

  1. That is a powerful message…sounds like you had a wonderful christmas.. we love looking at lights in our neighborhood too. I love the kid proof tree so cute ~

  2. Pingback: Pre-Christmas Activities 2016 | karathecucumber

Leave a Reply

