Poop is my life.

That may sound gross, but it is true. I clean up baby poop. I clean up toddler poop. I clean up the dog’s poop. And, believe me, the easiest poop to deal with is my own. Fortunately, it doesn’t really bother me to be around poop that much. Sometimes I wonder if others think I am crude for using the word “poop” so freely, but since it is my life, I don’t see a point in trying to disguise it!

All that goes to say, I have reached a point where my dealings with poop is about to take a whole new level: potty training. It’s something I’ve avoided for a while. Not really because I am trying to make sure Ava is ready so that I don’t scar her for life, that would be honorable, but because I really don’t want to deal with it. I like my kids being in diapers. Some people complain about that, but I really don’t mind it.

But the time is coming, nay, it is almost here, when that will no longer be an acceptable lifestyle with Ava. I’ve been pretty wishy-washy with the whole potty training thing. I bought pull-ups, which she loves due to Dora being on them, and told her she only could wear one when she goes (not just sits, but goes,) on the potty. So far she has worn 3 pull-ups. She has a potty seat that I put her on atleast once a day. She does not go. Last Monday I thought we had had a breakthrough: Ava told me she needed to go potty (poop), I put her on the potty, she went on the potty! And yet, she has not pooped on the potty since. In fact, now when I ask if she wants to go potty, she cries and runs the other way (which makes no sense, since Dora is on her potty!).

Well, the time is coming, I suppose, to get serious. Today we bought a potty chair (as opposed to just a seat that fits on a regular toilet) so that when Ava sits her feet will be able to touch the floor. My theory is the reason she doesn’t want to go potty on the toilet is because it takes a great deal of time, and in that time her legs fall asleep and she becomes uncomfortable. So enter the item I said I would avoid, the potty chair.

We also have some washable training pants (aka, thick underwear) and some used panties that are passed on from other family members. I am debating about how to best use the introduction of these items to my advantage. I am thinking that I will need to take a week where we have no obligations to be anywhere and start the introduction of undies on a Monday…armed with bleach and febreeze, I suppose!

So this means war…I reckon…

3 thoughts on “Poop is my life.

  1. haha…love the first paragraph 🙂 How true…we get so used to poop! We were working on potty training and it was going very well but with packing and concentrating on moving, unfortunately potty training has been put on hold. It takes a lot of work to potty train!

  2. hehe… hehehehe… he.. he… heheheheheheeeee. This made me just smile and giggle. I like the way you post! You’re so cute, even when talking about going “number 2!” lol. But yeah.. I hope it goes well for you. Who can resist Dora, right?!Did you start yet? 🙂 If I don’t make it over this week (which it’s looking like I won’t be able to.. *sigh*), I plan to come some weekend soon. Let me know when a good weekend for you guys would be, post-Easter. Kay?Thanks,~*Akarui Mitsukai*~

Leave a Reply

