Project 365 – Day 66

I know, you’re shocked that I’m updating two days in a row! It will be Ok, though!

Today I had my first official newborn shoot with baby Ahnna!!! I’ll be honest, I wasn’t sure that it would go well. I had tried to take some pictures when she was about 4 days old, and I just couldn’t seem to get anything right. I’ve looked at newborn pictures on photographer’s web sites and get depressed because I don’t have the studio equipment that they use to make their newborn pictures so amazing – nor did I feel I had the ability to get a baby to comply! But today she’s two weeks old, and she is much more alert than she was before! She was a trooper throughout the process. I may not be up there with the professionals, but I was definitely pleased with the pictures…

P1012972_border

This is one of the first pictures that I took, and I believe it is my favorite! I love the fact that the camera focused on her face and the rest has a lens blur – that was all camera, I didn’t photoshop that!

From today’s shoot I learned…

* Babies in newborn pictures don’t have to be brand new. It is actually wise to give them a few weeks to get on a regular schedule, start staying awake longer, and for the baby acne to clear up. It doesn’t hurt to give mom and dad a little time, either!

* I have got to, got to, got to learn and love my external flash! The nursery I photographed the inside pictures in was a small room that I would typically use my built in flash. Because I have resolved to love my flash, I used the external flash, anyway, and I definitely can see the difference in the quality of the pictures! Learn the flash. Love the flash. That is my mission!

* If you take the bare bum pictures, there will be tee tee involved. But it’s worth it for those bare bum pictures!

OK, I think I learned more, but you get the idea. Have an engagement shoot tomorrow that will involve some travel. Must prepare and rest up!

Leave a Reply

