Project 365 – Days 158 and 159

Believe it or not, I have a non-photography related blog for you! (OK, well, not completely unrelated, because it has to, of course, include pictures, but they are pictures of my kids!)

Saturday, I attended a friend’s wedding. You heard that right, attended! No photography obligations whatsoever! It was glorious!

My friend Lynsey got married. Lynsey and I were friends in high school. We attended the same church and “hung out” a lot outside of church, too! I remember asking Lynsey for accountability on some things several times. She was one of my bridesmaids, and also pretty much headed up my “bachelorette party” (we went bowling!) and a bridesmaid luncheon. Since then, we haven’t seen each other much and aren’t as close as we used to be, but I do know this: she is an amazing woman of God, who has met an amazing man of God, and I think that they are going to definitely bring glory to God in their marriage! She’s also an elementary school teacher, so she is touching numerous young lives!

Alright, so I’ve given you the back-story, now onto the wedding! Lynsey and Joseph got married in my hometown, so Josh, Ava, my mom, and myself attended the reception while “Pa” hung out with Izzy at my parents’ house. Ava is always wanting to go to weddings with me, and of course she usually can’t because I’m shooting them, so I figured this would be the ideal wedding to take her to. The ceremony was in the church that Lynsey and I attended together and it was beautiful, but I don’t have pictures of it, because I DID NOT TAKE MY CAMERA INTO THE CHURCH. And it was great!

The reception was held in and around an older house that has been converted for gatherings. I had a good time catching up with some old friends, and yes, I did bring my camera and snap a few shots. For about half an hour after people started dancing, Ava stood next to the dance floor, very still, and just observed. Then, the dance floor cleared, an upbeat song came on, and apparently she decided it was time to make her move! She started to dance in a way that I can’t really describe, although she does it all the time! One of the groomsman decided to join her, and, surprisingly to us, she allowed him to. They danced “together” for the whole song, while everybody else watched! Unfortunately, I missed the first 2/3 of it, since I was not by the dance floor (Josh was responsible for keeping up with her at the time) and had no idea what was going on! Finally, somebody clued me in, and I was able to get a few pictures before the end of the song.

P1019693

This is their ending pose. The groomsman posed first, and then Ava followed suit. And that, ladies and gentleman, is why I make her wear shorts under her dresses!

OK, so to bring balance to the force, my second picture must be of Izzy! Recently, Gigi gave us a box of toy cars that were actually Josh’s while he was growing up. Izzy loves playing with the cars, especially lining them up categorized in type and color. (We’re not sure where the OCD comes from, but it’s a good sign!)

P1019708

Here he is practicing a trick I taught him: rolling them down his leg!

I am leaving Friday for a week long trip, and we are nowhere near where we should be to get ready! You know the episode of John and Kate Plus 8 when they are getting ready to go to Disney World? (Oh, come on, you know you do!) Do you remember how Kate had to pack for the trip for like 2 weeks? Well, um, yeah, I should have probably learned a lesson from her because, well, nothing is packed right now! I’m tired just thinking about all the work that needs to be done!

As another side note, I made a “daring” move and opened my blog back up to the public. Even though it’s not difficult to start a xanga account, I think a lot of people are turned off by the “log-in only” feature. Plus, if a client asks me if I have a blog, right now this is the only thing I have to refer them to. I think that next year, after Project 365 is over, I’ll probably start a separate photography blog on blogspot (that’s the trendy thing right now, so by 2011 it will probably be out of date!), and then I may consider securing this one again. I’m not too worried; in the past 4 days, I have only had 4 hits from people who weren’t signed into xanga!

Leave a Reply

