Project 365: Days 313 – 317

Can you believe that Project 365 is almost over??? I’m just getting warmed up!

This week we had a big project: preparing our Operation Christmas Child boxes! We have a tradition that we do one shoe box (filled with toys and necessities, to be sent to children who would not otherwise “get” Christmas,) for each of our children. Which means that right now, we’re doing both a boy’s shoe box and a girl’s shoe box for the youngest age bracket. (hmmmm, I wonder what gender our third shoe box next year will be…) We try to make a pretty big deal out of it because we want our kids to really understand the seriousness of poverty and how important it is to share the love of Jesus by meeting the needs of those who are without, and this is a very personal way for a child to make that connection. We take them to the store and let them pick things out (under our supervision, of course!)

This year, Ava made some special cards to go in each shoe box!

I typically try to take a picture with the kids and our completed shoe boxes, but we were running SO late for church on Wednesday which is where we were going to drop off the boxes, I didn’t have time to take one. Yep, that’s really running late! But here are the boxes waiting on me to wrap them.

(Ava spent last weekend at her grandparents and they made a box with her, which is why there is a third!)

If you want to send a shoe box to make a child’s Christmas very special, it is not too late! National collection week is the 15th – 22nd! Check out the Samaritan’s Purse website for more info, including a cool seach engine that will find collection points in or near your zip code!

Thursday was unique because Josh had Veteran’s Day off, and we don’t typically have days in the middle of the week off! We decided to take the kids to our state capital building, which is where Josh works. The kids don’t ever get to see where he works because, well, I really have no interest in dragging two kids from a parking deck, across the street, into the elevator…you get the idea. So, since it was a nice day and Josh was around to help out, we decided to make the trip!

The capital is the tallest building in the city, and the top floor is windows all the way around so you can see everything.

There’s an awesome fountain outside and I was really hoping to get some good pictures of the kids with it. Of course, Izzy would much rather look at the water than at me, so this was the best we could do.

I feel like I have a lot to blog about, but Izzy got us up at 5:00 this morning vomiting (he is OK now), so everything is a little fuzzy. I think the best thing I could do at this point is get some rest. But I will leave you with a photo of our most recent pumpkin creation…

Chocolate chip pumpkin bread! Yep, I loved the chocolate/pumpkin combo so much in the cookies I made last week, I had to throw some in the bread, too! We had company for dinner last night so Ava and I put this together for dessert. It’s sensational, I’m sorry to say that we’ve already given it all away! Well, I’m glad that we have given it away, but sorry that we won’t get any more unless we make some more! Sorry, no linkies to the recipe this time, it is from my Betty Crocker book, but I’m sure there are a lot of great pumpkin bread recipes out there!

I’m pretty sure I’m going to have to buy another pumpkin, this is way too much fun to stop!

2 thoughts on “Project 365: Days 313 – 317

  1. Cute new layout!I also wanted to say major kudos on teaching your children the importance of assisting the poor. That is exactly what Jesus wants us to do. I didn’t really get past some of those myths about poverty (you know, “they just need to go out and get a job!”) until I was an adult and our church read The Hole in Our Gospel by Richard Stearns. Now in our household, if we can afford to buy Christmas gifts, the “biggest” gift is for Jesus in the form of a donation to World Vision. Awesome job!

Leave a Reply

