My Underwear Makes Me Feel Like a Superhero (Silly Post, Week 1)

Well, I’ve posted Serious and I’ve posted Sweet, so it looks like I still need to write a Silly post for the week! I’ve been thinking about this for awhile, as I would like my silly posts to be at least mildly entertaining for the sake of anyone who tries to keep up with my blog. But this is becoming a difficult task, because we are so very rarely silly around here…

(hair stylings by Ava)

I mean, we would never do anything the least bit silly. It’s not like we would sit around in cow-print diapers eating peanut butter graham crackers for lunch!

Sigh. So, the first Silly topic I have to write about is my new underwear. Now, I’m going to try to be as tactful and tasteful as I can as I write this, but the fact is, if you don’t want to read about my underwear, then you don’t want to read this. It’s sort of the entire point of the post, so there’s really no way to get around it.

It all started with my sister-in-law’s lingerie shower. (But don’t worry, I wouldn’t write about her underwear, although I happen to know, since I attended that shower, that it’s cute!) While shopping for a gift, I saw a pair of underwear that I really, really liked. And it was relatively inexpensive. So I did a rather horrible thing; I bought something for myself when I was supposed to be shopping for someone else.

It was about a week before I got around to washing, and consequently wearing, my new underwear, and my excitement about the underwear was building! I realized that I had not had any new underwear at all since the Christmas after Ava was born (if you’re counting, that was 4 years ago,) despite my ever-changing pregnancy/ post-pregnancy body. The prospect of something new was pretty exciting!

But then – I tried on the underwear, and – the horror! – they did not really fit. Not at all. I was very sad. And I decided that, although it was not something I had thought about for 4 years until this point, I really wanted some new underwear. And I wasn’t even sure what kind I wanted.

So, I did what any miserly (but still wanting to splurge on some underwear) mommy would do – I went to Wal-Mart, picked out three cheap pairs of undies in different styles, and decided to try them to see if I like them before purchasing any more. On a whim, I purchased them a size up from the size I’ve been wearing for the past, oh, 10 years and…

I loved them all! Who knew that, for all these years, I’ve been wearing underwear that was slightly too small, in a style that was not nearly as comfortable as these other styles I’ve discovered?! So I went back and bought more, and I shared with my hubby the good news! Ergo, I received a Christmas stocking pretty much full of new underwear, as well!

Now, I’m probably showing that I’m an extremely simple person if new underwear can give me a new lease on life, but it is what it is. And, even if you don’t get as excited about underwear as I do, you have to admit (at least, if you’re a girl you have to admit) that, even though no one knows what underwear you’re wearing but you, the knowledge that you have some cute, comfy undies on makes you feel a little better about yourself. Seriously.

Well, if that wasn’t a very Silly post, I don’t know what is! I’m sorry if you’ve read to the end and am totally disgusted that I chose to write about underwear…but you can’t say I didn’t warn you!

7 thoughts on “My Underwear Makes Me Feel Like a Superhero (Silly Post, Week 1)

  1. i love the post! i like the cute stuff too and I am willing to forego the comfort factor if they are really sexy…..lol that way I can give my hubby “the eye” all day and he has no idea why…. he he he but alas i have a draw full of the cute ones that are waiting for my size to shrink before I can wear them again! but yay for cute undies anyway!!!! ha ha ha ha

  2. All of your blogs are cute and entertaining. I check everyday to see if you have a new one. And don’t be surprised now if you start receiving new undies for every occasion. This was just too cute. It made me remember all the awesome hairstyles all my girls have given me over the years. Love you girl, Mama G

  3. Haha, that’s great! Over Christmas I bought myself two new packages of underwear. I was only going to buy one but they were on sale…now it means I can put off laundry even longer, oops…

  4. So true about how wearing cute undies can just make you feel better and more confident. 🙂 *hugs* What style did you go with? I need to go through my closet and draws sometime this year and clean them out… :/

  5. Pingback: A Few Favorites | karathecucumber

Leave a Reply

