A Random Family Post (Sweet, Week 2)

I’m not sure what direction this post will take, but I’m going to assume, because of the pictures I have for it, that it will be Sweet.

It’s not a secret that I live in Florida, the one state in our country that doesn’t have snow on the ground right now. (Or yesterday, or whenever that happened.) However, it is actually pretty cold right now. At least, for us. As in, so cold that I put gloves on both kids when we took Ava to preschool this morning. (Don’t worry, they also had coats and hats, but gloves are not usually something that I bother with, so that is significant!) Having said that, I just want to let you know that the following pictures were not taken this week. This week does NOT qualify as a pleasant Florida winter. I took these pictures LAST week, which DID qualify as a pleasant Florida winter, with afternoon temperatures in the 50s and 60s. I want my pleasant Florida winter back!

So, anyway, LAST week, we went on a walk and out to play, and it was a beautiful day, so I had the foresight to take my camera and zoom lens with me to play. I don’t play with my camera nearly enough! We live in an apartment, so we don’t have a yard, but we are blessed to live right next to a very nice walking trail that winds its way through the woods, past some ponds, etc. There is a field that we have been letting the kids run around and play in. At least, the goal is for them to run around and play, but right now they seem to be fascinated with playing in the dead grass that someone bush hogged. (Is that a verb? It is now!) They think it is “hay”, and I think they’d be content carrying it around and building things out of it for hours.

So, now that you have some back ground for the source of the pictures (which, in my defense, are completely un-edited, so please don’t look too closely!) on to my random post about my family! (What, you don’t think that intro was random enough? Sorry, I’ll work on it!)

As you can see, I have two kids. That’s been the case for over two years now, and it’s something I’ve pretty much gotten used to. And, I have to admit, they’re pretty awesome!

But, in about 6 weeks (give or take a week or two!), this is going to change. The Linker Kid Count will be up to 3! And, although the newest addition is currently doing the P90X in my uterus, this reality has not set in yet for me. There’s something about staying busy with two kids (and a very, super-small business) that has made my pregnancy, well, not very noticeable. In fact, I haven’t counted, but I would venture to say that there are much fewer blog entries in regards to the next baby than either of the first two…because I had other things to talk about! So I thought it would be pretty Sweet if I let you in on what we ARE doing…or maybe what we AREN’T doing, in preparation for expanding our family!

We ARE going to the doctor regularly. I know you were worried about that! Actually, I am carrying this baby A LOT differently than my previous two, which is kind of weird since I already have one of each gender. I’m not nearly as big as I was with my other two. (I’m sure, if you were to see me, you would think I look great with child, but trust me, with Ava and Izzy, my belly was MUCH bigger!) So, last week, we had an ultrasound that the doctor ordered so that we could make sure the baby is OK growth wise. And he/she is just fine! The baby was measuring at 4 pounds, which is right on track for gestational age. Apparently, I’m just hiding it a little better than usual!

We AREN’T finding out the gender. Well, you already knew that, but I figured I’d throw that in there! I thought it would be super-easy to not find out; we’ve always made it a surprise in the past, and I have clothes for both genders now. But actually, I will confess on here, that I’ve been more tempted to find out this time than in the past. We will (hopefully) be moving to a 3 bedroom place during the summer, and even though I have no idea what it will look like, I’m already trying to plan bedrooms in my head! Will there be a bedroom with two girls, or a bedroom with two boys??? Will are family dynamics be influenced more by estrogen or testosterone???

I would be happy with either gender. Really. I love both of my kids, including their differences because of their genders! However, I’ll admit I’m sort of, 51%, hoping for a boy. I just really feel like Izzy would benefit SO much by having a brother close in age! And I really, really love cuddling with my little boy – and I don’t want to have to stop! But I have to say here, all signs are pointing to this one be a girl. I’m carrying pretty high, and it seems pretty natural to let “she” slip out when talking about the baby. In which case, Ava will be very, very happy.

We AREN’T decided for sure on baby names. Before she even knew I was pregnant, Ava informed us her sister would be named Skyler Rose. We think that is beautiful…but we are not completely sold on it! Mainly because I really want our baby’s name to have a lot of spiritual meaning, and there’s not much there. (Well, Jesus is the Rose of Sharon, so it can work, but it feels like a stretch.) Also, Skyler is sort of a trendy name right now, and you know me and my non-conventionalism. Other girl names in the running are Bethel Rose and Erin Hope (which we had picked out for if #2 was a girl)…but none of them are really speaking to us!

For boys, we really like the name Egan. (Allison, if you’re reading this, yes, we love you guys THAT much! We also just think it’s a really awesome sounding name!) We’re not sure what we would pair it with…we like the flow of Egan Scott (but, again, not a lot of spiritual stuff there) and Egan James (James is my dad’s name, as well as several very significant New Testament men!) Totally unrelated to Egan, we also really like the name Gabriel, but are also not sure what middle name we would put with it.

(As a side note here, I’m not really asking for advice on this. I mean, if you feel like giving an opinion, that is totally fine, but my experience with baby names is it is best to let the parents do their thing. I hate feeling like I’ll hurt someone’s feelings if I use or don’t use a particular name! We all have different taste…which is one of the reasons why there are so many beautiful names out there!)

(Oh, and just to put your mind at ease, we asked Izzy what he wanted to name the new baby, too. He promptly answered “Aurora.” Izzy thinks all babies are named Aurora!)

We AREN’T really making a lot of changes around the house in preparation for the new baby. Everything is pretty much the same as when we brought Izzy home from the hospital, so I figured we’d live well enough alone. The baby will be sleeping in our room at least until we move, and the play pin is still set up in our room from when Izzy was sleeping there, so sleeping arrangements = DONE! I’ve never actually painted/decorated a nursery before. I guess that’s kind of sad, but we are always moving right before or after a baby comes, so it’s not something I’ve wasted my time with. If our next landlord is open to us painting, maybe we will be able to personalize our kids’ rooms a little more.

We ARE, for the first time in our parenting careers, registered somewhere! I don’t need any of the “big” baby items, and I don’t need any clothes that I know of, but we are planning on continuing our cloth diapering with the new baby, so I am registered with my local cloth diapering company for those oh-so-cute tiny baby cloth diapers! If you really want to know, our registry can be found here. And, thanks to a Christmas gift from my super sis, Heather, we already have a few of these oh-so-cute items!

To wrap things up, we ARE excited about the upcoming baby! Sometimes I have to remind myself that A) I’m having another baby, and B) I am excited about it…but pretty soon, he/she will be here doing the reminding for me! They are a lot of work, but children are truly a blessing from God (I didn’t make that up, it’s in the Bible, check it out!) and we feel super blessed!

I mean, who wouldn’t want another one of these???

One thought on “A Random Family Post (Sweet, Week 2)

  1. While Bethel Rose may be a good name of a character in a book, I can’t see any girl being happy with a name like Bethel. It just doesn’t have that feminine ring to it, you know? Great meaning, yes… But don’t loose character for meaning. It’s your child, and you will name it what you want. I just thought I should throw in the caution of having people look at her funny whenever she introduces herself as she gets older with that name. n_n; heheSkyler = Scholar, and she could be skyler rose, scholar of the rose… Scholar of love, which is what the rose symbolizes. πŸ™‚ It’d be a stretch, but better than Bethel for a girl. I’m not really too big on either. They’d make dandy book names… But I have yet to be sold on them for baby names. πŸ™‚ Hehe. Oh well! Naming children will be a nightmare for me one day. I dread it. Hahaha.In the last photo, are Ava’s feet even on the ground? haha. πŸ™‚ Neato. You guys have beautiful kids! I hope me and Jeremy are as lucky. n_n Anywho.But yeah, best advice I can give… Regardless to what anyone else feels, name your children what you feel God has told you to. Be sure to keep it in your prayers and allow Him the opportunity to guide you. πŸ™‚ That’s the only real advice you need on that subject. n_n *hugs* Best wishes. I don’t know when I’ll be able to get down to see you guys again! 😦 Good news, though. From the end of this month until the 25th of next month, I will be working set weekday hours only at wal-mart! Yay! πŸ˜€ We’re going to be going through another mini-remodel thing where we’re bringing back our “action alleys”… Wish us luck! Haha. I’ll be going in at 5 AM and working ’til 2 PM every Monday through Friday! πŸ™‚ I’m happy about a set schedule with predictability. :)Tell the kids & your hubby that I said hi and I love them.Love & miss you,~*Akarui Mitsukai*~P.S. Have you gotten to test out the diapers yet?

Leave a Reply

