Our Summer Adventures: D-Now Edition (Alternatively titled: Edition THE END)

I’VE MADE IT. This is the last Summer Adventure I’m going to attempt to blog. It took place around the time that school started back for most people, so I’m going to call this one the last. As much as I’ve enjoyed blogging about our summer activities, and as much as I wanted to document them so that I’ll have something to remember them by in the future (as I seem to have failed to do any real journaling or scrapbooking over the past, oh, six years), I am so over blogging about the summer. I’d much rather blog about the things that are on my mind now, like my new photo editing methodology or my new recipe binder.

Because both of those things sound like they would really make exciting blog posts.

Anyway, Josh and I had the opportunity to help with a Disciple Now with my dad’s association. In case you’re not familiar with D-Now, it’s a weekend of intense Bible study for teenagers. Kind of like camp with air conditioning. This was our second year working with D-Now. This year, we had the privilege of working with the church I attended while in high school. Josh had the guys at the church, and I had the girls at the youth minister’s home.

I had such a good time working with these girls! It was funny, I knew some of them from when I went to church there, but they probably were around kindergarten age back then! Now they are lovely young ladies, and it’s so cool to see what God is doing in their lives. They were really good sports to put up with me and my old-phobiness. You know, seeing how I’m 25 now.

The theme for the weekend was “Love Walk.” (And yes, it had been so long since I had gotten to do anything girly, I pulled out all the stops and made decorations! ) We used a modified version of the curriculum I wrote for camp earlier in the summer. We closely examined the elements of Micah 6:8 – acting justly, loving mercy, and walking humbly with God.

Getting crafty with a Bible verse!

One group’s finished product!

There was a cue of girls wanting to hold Egan. It felt like I had the day off!

Lunches to take to the ministry site. The kids got to spend a few hours ministering to others during D-Now!

Some of these girls were in my cabin for children’s camp years ago. Now they’re teenagers…**sniff!**

From an ice breaker game. Yes, I’m just proud of myself for making it pretty instead of using boring index cards!

I had such a good time hanging out with these girls. I spend 98% of my time with preschoolers, but there is a special place in my heart for young ladies that doesn’t often get to be fulfilled. I can’t think of a better way to wrap up my summer!

One thought on “Our Summer Adventures: D-Now Edition (Alternatively titled: Edition THE END)

  1. Pingback: Summer 2017 Recap | karathecucumber

Leave a Reply

