What’s on my mind these days…

Egan’s Christmas gift from us was a swing to hang next to the playground so that he could swing, too! Here are some pictures of his first adventure with it, as well as some pictures of Josh’s favorite Christmas present. And, of course, I will pepper in some random bullet points – just to keep things interesting!

~ I try not to talk about my photography blog much on here, since that would kind of defeat the purpose of having a separate photography blog, but I just blogged my favorite newborn shoot yet!

~ Ava went back to preschool today, and I am so. glad. It wasn’t that she was absolutely terrible during her break…but the child was super hyper! My theory is that she, even though she only goes to preschool twice a week, she burns a lot of energy there (she plays on the playground THREE TIMES a day!), and at home that energy had no where to go. It was like she was caffeinated all the time. Except she wasn’t.

~ I ended up taking a break from structured homeschooling, too. Or structured anything, for that matter. The kids spent the week between Christmas and New Years playing in their pajamas, for the most part. But I think it was good – I needed a break from trying to keep my kids occupied all the time.

~ I had a small baby food making victory this week. Mom sent the ham bone from our Christmas ham home with me so that I could make a soup with it. I have never made ham bone soup before, so I wasn’t sure about all that. But I put it in the crock pot with some corn, kidney beans, carrots, chopped spinach, and water, and figured that, worst case scenario, we could eat leftover lasagna. The soup turned out fine, AND I pureed it up and froze it in baby food containers. I wasn’t sure if Egan would like it since, so far, he’s really only had bland foods, but he gobbled it right down last night! I was very proud of my application of the waste not, want not principle!


This is Josh’s method of making adjustments to the baby swing. Kids, don’t try this at home. This is a trained professional on a certified swing adjusting course (CSAC).

~ OK, so we don’t drink wine, ergo, I never have wine bottles to do cutesy crafty things with. However, after the New Year’s festivities, we have approximately 3 sparkling grape juice bottles (yes, we partied hard!), and I am bound and determined to turn them into beautiful decor! I am definitely thinking about doing the hot glue/spray paint thing from Pinterest, but I’m open to other suggestions, as well! Anybody? Anybody???


Josh’s fire pit – a Christmas gift from his mom!

~ Egan turned 10 months old yesterday. Ten. months. Do you realize what this means? Do you realize what this means??? It means that in two months, he will be a year old! First of all, that is incredibly sad – how fast a year goes by! Second of all – I have to plan a party soon! As of yet, my kids’ first birthdays have been the ONLY birthdays that I have consistently had a party for. I mean, the real kind of party that you make invitations and have a cake for. Which means that it would be best for me to keep the tradition alive with my third born. So I started Pinterest searching for ideas – I’m not big on themes, but it is nice to have something to get me started. So far, the only thing I know I want to do is have at least one garland of balloons. (In other words – I am open to suggestions in the category, as well!)


We were trying the pit out with whatever scrap wood we could find, so the fire wasn’t quite big enough to show the whole verse. Can you tell what it is?

~ Egan got really, really mobile over the Holidays. His belly flop crawl has developed into his own version of The Worm. He can pull up onto his knees and climb onto low objects. But I’ll save more talk about him for when I post his super cute 10 month pictures.

2 thoughts on “What’s on my mind these days…

  1. OMGosh! I loooove the newborn photos! The one in the crocheted peanut are adorable! Did you make that? Also, the one in the glove! My husband and I aren’t huge sports fans, but if we ever have a little boy I am definitely doing the glove picture! I just bought my husband a nice new glove for Christmas because he plays church-league softball (more for the fellowship than the sportiness ;))Have a great weekend!

  2. Love the verse. Is it… “As for me and my house we will serve the Lord?” I love your “waste not, want not” ideas. Hooray! That was a COOL picture. Hey speaking of wine bottle decorations I saw one on the Young House Love Gallery (it was the inspired and inexpensive tour) and this couple made a chandelier out of wine bottles that they asked their favorite wedding venue to save for them.

Leave a Reply

