Going Home, Part 2

I have lots of light, cheerful things I would love to blog about, but I can’t let myself do it until I follow up on my last post.

First of all, thank you so much for all your love, support, and prayers. Seriously, thank you.

On Thursday, the 10th, my family headed to Mississippi. We went to the visitation that night. I didn’t take pictures of Grandad because I knew it made Durscherl uncomfortable (and I would rather look at pictures of him when he was alive!), but I did take pictures of some of the things that his sons had brought to display. They well represented some of the highlights of his life.

A letter from JFK! That’s just a little bit AWESOME.

This was either before my grandparents got married or shortly afterwards. I love it!

This one is pretty cool, too!

Grandad was an electrician in the Merchant Marines.

My grandparents.

Much more recent: Grandad with his horse, Prince.

I think this was his favorite picture of all time. Grandad was in the calvary for a few years before it was phased out. Durscherl brought this picture to the hospital, and it was one of the few things that would make his eyes light up!

This is my grandparents and their first son, who is now in his 70s. My uncle pointed at this picture and INSISTED that I look just like my grandmother. I hate to differ, but I think that HIS beautiful daughters, Rebecca and Elizabeth, favor her more:

See?

Visitation was a really nice time with family. We are spread all over the southeast, and although we have many good memories together, it is very, very rare that we see each other anymore.

Friday morning came, and after spending a second night in two weeks in a hotel…

…it was time to get dressed up for the service.

I wish I had a better picture of Egan, this was the outfit that Izzy wore for Heather’s wedding. Izzy lucked out; I didn’t have a button up in his size!

With my parents…

Throwing Josh to the mix…

With Durscherl.

It was a wonderful service. My Dad, Uncle John, and Great Uncle Dale spoke, and I imagine it was the hardest mini-sermon any of them had ever given, but they were all so very, very good. An ensemble from my grandparents church sang this, and it was so perfect:

And we sang Grandad’s favorite hymn, “At Calvary.”

It was a beautiful service. So well representing his life, but more importantly, representing the Savior that Grandad loves.

Josh had the opportunity to be a pall bearer, which I know was primarily because he is a big, strong guy, but it was a nice reminder to me that legacies are not always passed down by blood.


Izzy, the back-up pall bearer.

But here’s my confession: I didn’t really feel an urge to cry during the service. (Other than during the Chris Rice song, because, WHO WOULDN’T?!) I know that Grandad had one of the longest, most beautiful lives that anyone has had in a long time. But as we walked out to the cemetary to lay him to rest after the service, it came. Not just a trickle, but The Ugly Cry. A sweet step cousin that I barely know offered to take Egan from me, and I declined because he is my security blanket, and because it is hard to communicate during The Ugly Cry. You see, I was walking through a cemetary that I visited many, many times before because that is where my Grandmother is, and the majority of the times I have been there, Grandad has been with me. And now, I was following him once more to Grandma’s grave. But this time, HE WAS IN A BOX.

And, regardless of how wonderful his life was or how long his life was or how much he loved Jesus, I don’t like my Grandad in a box.

And now I think I understand, more than ever before, the cost of our sin. This was not God’s original design for us. He doesn’t like us to be in boxes, either.

I don’t think anyone planned it, but the theme of Grandad’s funeral was “The Morning.” I think everyone that spoke made a reference to “seeing him in The Morning.”

He’s in a box now, but he won’t be in The Morning. God doesn’t like us in boxes. And so He did something about it.

54When the perishable has been clothed with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality, then the saying that is written will come true: “Death has been swallowed up in victory.” 55“Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting?” 56The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. 57But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. 1 Corinthians 15:54-57

Leave a Reply

