Izzy and the Angry Birds

If you can’t tell by the title, this is one of the more light hearted posts that I’ve been wanting to make!

It would be remiss of me to not document the stages our kids go through. Sure, right now, I think, “I’ll never forget this,” but anyone who has ever asked me what I did yesterday knows that that is simply not true!

Izzy has been intrigued with the concept of Angry Birds for a while. At some point we got him a T-shirt, and our family has a been bag toss game with bean bags that look like Angry Birds. However, it really wasn’t an obsession for Izzy until he actually started playing Angry Birds.

For Christmas, the kids’ Gigi gave them little tablets loaded with educational games. And a few not-so-educational. Izzy has been playing Angry Birds ever since!

First, let me say that it is hilarious to watch Izzy play angry birds because A) half the time, the bird goes into the ground or straight up in the air, however, he still somehow passes all the levels, B) he gets so into it that he just stands wherever he was when he started playing, even if it’s the middle of a crowded room, and C) he tends to make his own sound effects.

But, of course, we have to limit screen time at our house, so except for that golden half hour a day that the kids get their tablets, Izzy doesn’t get to play his favorite game. He fills in that void by asking me to print angry birds coloring sheets. He stares at my “Angry Birds coloring page” Bing Images search for as long as I let him, and then he will finally make a selection.

He is really focused on his coloring now, which I love. Except when he has a 15 minute melt-down because he colored outside the lines. And when I say “outside the lines,” I mean just a tiny smidge outside the lines. Seriously. Tiny smidge = 15 minutes of tears. Oy.

Once Izzy is done with/bored with his coloring page, he turns it over and draws his own Angry Birds scene. And let me tell you, it is detailed. Would you like to see a few?

That is just a few! I took pictures of 15 or 20 of them and then had to choose some of the best ones to hang on his wall before I tossed the rest. (Of course, he’s generated more by now for me to go through!)

And just in case that’s not enough to put someone in the obsessed category, observe, below how Izzy eats his Angry Birds gummies.

This is not a negotiable process; the procedures must be followed for each one that is consumed.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have an Intervention to organize.

Leave a Reply

