The Great Linker Purge of 2013

OK, I guess I should start with some confessions.

Confession #1: Organization is not at the top of my skill-sets.

Confession #2: Although I’m relatively good at not being too sentimentally attached to possessions, I do have to fight a natural tendency to pack rat. I’m convinced that it’s genetic.

Confession #3: If something is where potential guests can’t see it, I have no desire to move it, clean it, or organize it.

I don’t know if you’ll remember, but one of my goals that I set for LAST YEAR was to finish unpacking the boxes we had leftover from our move to this house, and to organize my portion of the office.

I am here to tell you that I did NOTHING in that area. It is true.

Well, for whatever reason, a few weeks ago, I got bit by the purging bug. (I realize that I probably was bitten instead of bit, but whatever.)

It started with my closet. I had gotten to a point that I wasn’t wearing most of my pants because they were too small, too big, or uncomfortable. I realized that I had not taken the time to truly shop for jeans since high school. (I want to clarify here, before anyone thinks that I’m TOO selfless, that that does not mean I had not obtained new clothes. I have gotten a lot of hand-me-downs from family and friends, and I had picked up jeans off the clearance rack, but I hadn’t taken the time to try on different sizes and shapes to figure out what would work best for my body.)

ANYWAY, I finally, with the help of some girlfriends, found some pants that fit me well, and I vowed to just purge all my old pants and start completely over. But of course, I never got around to it.

Until the bug bit, and then I cleaned out my WHOLE closet, not just the pants! I don’t have a “before” picture, but here is the pile of clothes that have now completely disappeared from our home:

Here are the T-shirts that I purged. One pile is to save for a T-shirt quilt that I hope to bribe someone to make me some day, the other is being saved to use as fabric:

When all was said and done, this is what I was left with:

I was discouraged because I felt like my closet looked SO full, even afterwards, but Josh assured me that there was a huge difference. (And this is clothes for all seasons; I gave up on trying to store summer clothes in the winter/winter clothes in the summer because our winters are wonky, anyway.) Oh, and the bins at the top? Those used to be OVERFLOWING with t-shirts.

I can’t help it that I wear the same t-shirt size now that I did in 6th grade!

THEN, over MLK weekend, the bug bit AGAIN, and I attacked our office. I have some before pictures…that I took LAST January! Our office looked basically the same when I attacked it, except there was even more stuff piled up in there.

So here is before:

And, after 3 days of work, here is after:

All boxes are unpacked! The one box you can be is storing fabric; someday I will hopefully have a more attractive hamper for it.

Prop storage area! It’s not ideal, I would love to have a deep shelving unit or armoire for all of it, but it’s nice for everything to have a place to go!

I realize that the room is not all cute and Pinteresty, but the point is, now I can get to everything, and there are areas that could actually be used!

While I was at it, I hit my craft cabinet in the dining area, too. Before:

After:

I threw out several trash bags worth of stuff and took a good sized donation to the local thrift store. I have decided to try to consign in a local sale to help raise money for a mission trip Josh and I plan to make this summer, so I am setting aside good quality baby toys and children’s clothes. If I can’t sell them, however, I will be donating them!

So, I realize that this qualifies as one of the Top 5 Most Boring Posts Ever, but the reason I’m writing it is because A) this has obviously taken up a lot of my time, and B) I need some accountability to finish The Great Purge of 2013. I have seemed to settle back into a lull, and I need to power through and finish the project!

Besides, I can’t claim that we’re completely unpacked yet, because there’s still a box in the kids’ bathroom closet.

2 thoughts on “The Great Linker Purge of 2013

  1. That is quite a bit of clothing that you are getting rid of! I have to say I am going to have to get rid of some of the quilts I have because of the different ones I am getting in. For example, I just ordered a great looking Greenland Home Antique Chic set. Hopefully it is as nice looking on my bed as it looked in the pictures online!

  2. Pingback: Official New Schoolroom Reveal! | karathecucumber

Leave a Reply

