Because I still have kids.

I realize that my blogging has been…spotty…at best.

So I haven’t really put any good pictures of my kids up lately, and they are growing like crazy.

Let’s fix that, shall we?

The back story to these pictures: Long story short, after 3 years of shooting and saving, I got a new camera right before Christmas. However, first there was The Trip, and then there was The Flu, and then there was The Funeral, and then there was The Recovery. So it was almost mid-January before I even took the first shot with the thing.

It’s no secret that I am self-taught in this area (not to say that friends and YouTube haven’t helped me along the way,) but with the new camera, I really felt like I needed to continue my education a little more formally. Because, you know what they say, with great camera comes great responsibility. So I made a 3 hour drive to take a workshop under a photographer that I have a lot of respect for.

I am so thankful that I did. I came out of it no longer intimidated by my new equipment. In fact, I’m pretty excited about the possibilities!

We had the opportunity to do some hands on work with 3 sweet models (of the high school variety, not the pin-up.) However, the picture I have selected to share with you from the session should not surprise you:

My wedding band, shot with my 50mm lens in manual. (Yes, I realize that to get the detail shots I’m used to taking, I’m going to have to get some kind of macro lens. I have sticker shock already and I haven’t even priced any yet. The bright side? Olympus still has a job!)

So, ANYWAY, getting excited about my new camera and having new knowledge means I have been doing some practicing! And here is where my kids come in. Ava assisted me with a shoot the other day, and we got there early so I could use her as a test subject. I have tons of pictures of her making crazy faces. Here are some of my favorites:


Holding the reflector!

Not to leave her brothers out, I experimented, I mean practiced, with them the other day. It was between rain showers so a completely different light.


Oh, I love his crazy eyes!


Maybe not the best quality picture, but I felt the need to share this moment with the world! I can’t make this stuff up!

OK, after a loooooooong intro, I have finally posted some updated pictures of my kids!

2 thoughts on “Because I still have kids.

Leave a Reply

