Yesterday was a big deal for our family because Egan turned 2. I can truly say that this is a birthday that has snuck up on us…I mean, how can he possibly be 2?! We are saving our celebrating for this coming weekend because that worked better for our calendar, so I will save that post until later. I will, however, share some portraits I took of him on Saturday, and some tid-bits of what life is like for our 2 year old!

Oh, where can I start on Egan? He is the most intense child I’ve ever had. At least at this age.

He is a climber! He’s been climbing out of his crib since Christmas. We’ve never done this before our kids were about 2.5, but we finally, the other day, took the side off his crib to turn it into a toddler bed. He was climbing out of the crib in the middle of the night, and although it was clear that he was capable of doing it, if he fell in the middle of the night we may or may not hear him. So now he gets up about once a night and stands in the hall until someone puts him back to bed.

Needless to say, I’m not thrilled at the idea of my 2 year old wandering around in the middle of the night. But I hear tying him to his bed would be inhumane…and he probably could get out of that, anyway.

He is also a disciplinary quandry. Well, I guess each of my children are, for different reasons. His deal is he isn’t going to let a time-out, or even a spanking, get in the way of doing what he wants to do. Which is often throwing toys.


The kids’ G-Dad sends them a $2 bill every year for their birthdays. I thought this was especially fun this time because he is turning 2!

Egan is SO much more verbal than Izzy ever was at this age. And he’s not afraid to let you know what he thinks!

Egan loves going outside. He especially loves playing in puddles. However, he prefers the FULL BODY puddle experience. They are to be splashed in, laid in, drank, etc. This is the kind of thing that will be a lot more acceptable for me in the summer, but he also doesn’t seem to have a good temperature gauge.

Egan loves animals. Or maybe he just loves chasing them, I’m not really sure. Most of the animals around here are smart enough to not let him get close enough to touch!

Egan likes to associate things with characters. Cars with eyes on them are “‘Mater Cars,” cars without eyes are “race cars.” Cookies are “Cookie-Monster-Elmo.”

Egan has not always been very demonstrative with affection, but he is getting better now about hugging and kissing. He and Izzy are also starting to enjoy wrestling, which I have trouble with and have to remind myself that it’s a normal part of play and that Egan’s no longer a delicate baby.

Egan was never really interested in toys as a baby, but now he is thoroughly enjoying cars, trains, and blocks! He will also sit for short periods of time to be read to, and is starting to enjoy looking at picture books by himself. Although he won’t sit in front of the TV for hours like Izzy would if we let him, he will watch a PBS cartoon on occasion, which is a great help for me!

Yes, intense. That is the word for Egan! And I love the dynamic that he adds to our family. I especially love watching his siblings dote on him. I know that won’t always last, so I will enjoy it while I can!

This is also a strange season for me because it is the first time that I’ve had a baby turn 2 and have not been expecting another one! Yes, that’s right, believe it or not, I’m NOT pregnant right now. So, of course that begs the question, when will we be having another one??? And, although I really don’t know, I do have a sort of plan for NOT getting pregnant. Josh and I are both planning on travelling to Haiti on a mission trip this summer, and I don’t need to get pregnant during this time leading up to the trip. I will also be on Malaria meds for about a month after the trip, and although I need to discuss it with my doctor to make sure I have all my information straight, I’m pretty positive we need to postpone any pregnancy until after that!

So, although we fully expect to continue to grow our family, it looks like, unless God surprises us, we will have a good bit bigger of an age gap between kids this time around. And, honestly, that’s going to be a little weird. I mean, I’ve had at least one in diapers since Ava was born, and now it’s looking like we may go through at least a short season with everyone out of diapers?! Clearly, this will be something I’ll be able to adjust to, but it is strange to think about.

So, weirdness aside, Happy Birthday Egan! We are so glad you are a part of our family!

Leave a Reply

