Because I’m Old and I’ll Write What I Want

I’ve arrived at the ripe old age of 30* at last.  Part of my birthday gift to myself is writing a blog post.  (Another part of it was getting the dishes washed.  Just so we’re clear where I stand.)  I’ve been thinking all day about what I would like most to write about.  I thought about trying to write 30 thoughts.  So here we go.  Happy birthday to me!

  1. Pandora is a wonder.  I’ve been using Pandora for at least 5 years now, and we’ve gotten to a point in our relationship that Pandora will say, “You’ve never heard this song before, but you will love it because I know you better than you know yourself.”  And I’m all like, “Oh, ok – thanks Pandora!”
  2. SO, thanks to Pandora’s intuitiveness, I have finally had to accept a truth about myself: my taste in music has mellowed with my age.  My preferences now definitely hover in the alternative rock/folk genre (some of that being Christian, but Christian is not a genre, people; it’s a topic!)  My jam these days seems to be folky music (think Lumineers and NeedToBreathe), instrumental hymns, and adult contemporary covers of pop songs.
  3. If you end up in the same boat as me, I want to point you in the right direction in case you don’t have 5 years for Pandora to guide you through the musical world.  My favorite groups that do covers of pop music are Boyce Avenue and Anthem Lights.  Such great harmonies!  And a great way to hear the catchy pop tunes without having to be blasted with crazy loud music.  Because we are old, and loud music is for those young whippersnappers who still have all their teeth.
  4. Speaking of music, I just wrapped up a year of teaching my first music class in a homeschool co-op.  I don’t know how much the kids learned, but it was a huge learning experience for me!  My favorite part is that it forced me to bring music back into my life; something that’s been on the backburner for a looooong time.
  5. For the class, I borrowed my mom’s autoharp so that I would have something easy to use/carry to use for accompaniment.  If you’re not familiar with the autoharp, it’s an instrument designed for people who don’t play instruments.
  6. Incidentally, the autoharp is the perfect instrument for me.
  7. However, the autoharp is also a pretty quiet instrument, so I asked my dad if he would come and play the guitar for our final Parent Night.
  8. My dad doesn’t typically play in public (although he’s very good!), so I don’t think he was delighted to do this; however, I am his only daughter so resistance was futile.
  9. I taught the kids folk songs for Parent Night, and it was a lot of fun re-living some of the songs that I had to, I mean GOT to perform in my years of chorus and show choir.
  10. As a part of our preparation for Parent Night, Dad and I made videos so the parents could easily practice the songs with their kids.  This fulfilled my lifelong dream of getting to jam with my parents.  (Although mom did not have her dulcimer, so I guess it only partially fulfilled the dream.)
  11. My dad and I are both the type to not want to show the internets our little videos.  But what the hey, it’s my birthday!

    (And it seems the internet doesn’t want to talk to me right now, so if  you’re having trouble viewing the embedded video, here’s a link.)
  12. I would say we’re available to book concerts, but we’re not.  We’re pretty busy.  And we’re more like sing around the camp fire people, anyway.
  13. Also, I’m sure there’s a more attractive way to play the autoharp.  I have no formal training, dude.
  14. What, you want another one?  Well, OK.  I don’t play for this one, but I do try to hold some helpful signs for my students.

    (Again, a link.)
  15. To me, that’s the ultimate song for the folk music lover to get to perform in a group.  Preferably while wading into a river single file whilst holding candles.  But we can’t have everything.
  16. So I think I’ve exhausted the subject of music and will now awkwardly transition to something else!
  17. Our big move is now officially a month away!
  18. A lot has happened since I last blogged about it.
  19. Josh has worked his new job for two months now!  He trained in Atlanta (read: I was a crazy person) for 5 weeks, and has since then been able to work from home (read: I feel much better now.)
  20. We now have leased a house.  Josh picked it for us and I didn’t see it in person before we signed papers, but I knew I could trust my hubby to make the right decision.
  21. And I was right because it is beeeeeautiful.  I love our new house!  We camped out there about a month ago when we got the keys.
  22. It really is a shame that we’re going to have to put our stuff in it.  Right now it’s so nice and clean!!!
  23. That doesn’t mean I won’t miss our life here.  We have begun a series of Last Things here.
  24. Our homeschool co-ops have had their last meetings.
  25. I’ve taught my last class at church.
  26. I’ll admit I won’t be so sad when we make it to Ava’s last baseball game.  She’s been playing baseball (NOT softball!) and she loves it and I’m thankful, but it feels like a huge time suck.  Two more weeks to go!
  27. We are trying to push through the school year a week before we usually finish due to the move, and we lost about a week if not more with all the family “stuff” that has gone on.  I’m not great at math, but that throws us two weeks off.  But we can do it, and the end is in sight!
  28. We have already registered with a Classical Conversations community in our new town!  We were able to visit them during our Spring Break and the kids immediately clicked.  It’s so nice to be involved in something that gives you connections with people right away!
  29. If you would prefer a well thought out, reflective post over my silly list of thoughts, here is a link to the post I wrote reflecting on adulthood last year.
  30. Also, there was this post 5 years ago, where I made 30 goals to achieve by the age of 30.  (Except it was actually 15 goals, because even at 25 I didn’t have the energy to come up with that many goals.)  I am pleased to report I have achieved about 8.5 of those goals by age 30.   So a few things (running a half marathon, camping as a family, and reading a collection of classic literature, to name a few,) will now be floated to age 40.  We’ll check on those then!
    *I actually don’t think that 30 is old, and being this age does not make me uncomfortable or sad.  That was sarcasm, folks.
One thought on “Because I’m Old and I’ll Write What I Want

  1. Pingback: May Memories! | karathecucumber

Leave a Reply

