What’s Up Wednesday

So I saw that there was this blog link-up with Mix and Match Mama, and I don’t often participate in blog link-ups, but when I do, it seems to be on Wednesdays.  I thought this would be a fun way to exercise my writing muscle with a little structure.  If I can figure out all the technology before it’s not Wednesday any more, I’ll even actually join the link-up!

So here goes.  The assigned topics are:

wuwquestions-edit-969x1024

  1. What we’re eating this week

Well, this has not been the best week for Linker eating.  See, what happened was, I got totally thrown off of my grocery shopping routine.  Israel had baseball practice on the night I would normally shop, and I said “I’ll go tomorrow” every day until I finally realized it was too late.  (I also might have said, “I’ll get the groceries while I’m at Wal-Mart getting Valentines supplies,” and then totally chickened out because Wal-Mart the night before Valentines Day was terrifying.)  So we have eaten this week whatever we could make work with what we already had.  So this week it was tacos, chicken roll-ups (using canned biscuits instead of crescent roles,) and tortellini soup.  And since we have one kid that needs to be at the field tomorrow night and one that needs to be at the batting cages, I’ve already given up on dinner tomorrow night.

HOWEVER, check out, the soft pretzels that Ava made all by her lonesome using a Paula Deen cookbook she checked out from the library.

IMG_1613

She’s hired!!!

2.  What I’m reminiscing about

Lately, we’ve been realizing how much Arrow looks like Egan did at that age.  It took us a while to catch on because they have different hair, but, man, are they really twinsies!

 

3. What I’m loving

I’m not gonna lie, I’m still loving my dish washer.  It’s washing my Crock Pot RIGHT NOW as I sit here and eat dark chocolate bark.  Do you know how many minutes of my life I have spent scrubbing Crock Pots???

4.  What we’ve been up to

This week is a lighter week because we don’t have CC or my Bible study this week.  We had the nephews over Sunday night so that their mama could work on a research paper. (She is in her last semester!  I know she feels like this college degree has taken three sweet forevers, but she’s almost there, and we are so proud of her!)  Thanks to the rain we haven’t had baseball practice yet this week.  In fact, if I didn’t want to do school this week, I could get away with it with a clear conscience because our county’s public school is out this week for “Winter Break.”  But we are doing school so that we can break later. Hallelujah.

5.  What I’m dreading

Well, if you haven’t seen it hinted at, BASEBALL SEASON is coming.  Last year with one child in baseball was hard, but apparently not hard enough, because now we have three in baseball!  Right now we have practice four days a week, but once the season starts, it looks like we will be at the ball field six days a week.

And y’all.  I love that my kiddos are passionate about the same sport Josh is passionate about.  But I know God is going to use this baseball season for my sanctification because I do NOT do well with spontaneity that team sports require.  One or both of us having to be at the fields every day and then having to figure out how to feed the family nutritiously at odd hours is NOT going to bring the best out of me. So if you see anything good in me over the next few months know that it’s not possible without the transformational power of the Holy Spirit.  (Not to mention all the group texts required for sports to happen.  MERCY.)

6.  What I’m working on

I’m preparing for a 10K!  I really, really had gotten into a terrible exercise slump last year.  The first six months I rarely got to run due to Josh being out of town for the new job and the crazy schedule.  After we moved here, I pretty much threw a big pity party because I didn’t have Liz to run with and I had pretty much turned into a person that would only run if it provided a social opportunity.  About the time I decided to woman up and run by myself, I saw that Liz was training for the same 10K we ran a four years ago.  And I thought, “Why not?”

So I get to reunite with my old running buddy soon to run a 10K!  We may not get to physically train together, but I try to send her an encouraging-ish text about once every other week (like the one to follow), which is almost the same thing.

hobbitmeme3

OK, it’s not the same thing at all.  I miss my running buddy.

7.  What I’m excited about

See #6, #11, and #12.

8.  What I’m watching/reading

I’ve gotta be honest.  There are so many non-fiction books I need to read, and I’m having trouble being motivated to read them.  If I take the time to read, I really would like to just enjoy myself with a piece of fiction.  I am making an effort to read Six Ways to Keep the Good in Your Boy by Dannah Gresh.  I love Dannah Gresh, and I need to read this book, but I’m having trouble investing in it.  I even am bribing myself; I bought a fiction book off Amazon that I know will be enjoyable, and I get to read it once I am done with Six Ways.  So far, it hasn’t worked.

I am also reading Lies Women Believe by Nancy Leigh Demoss as a part of a group.  I’m only a few chapters in, but it’s pretty powerful stuff!

And Josh and I have really enjoyed watching Parks and Rec.  We don’t have as much time for TV together as we used to have, so it is good for us to watch something where we don’t have to commit to a huge story arch.  Since Josh worked for the government in Florida for eight years, we are having the best time comparing it to his real-life office experiences.  The show might not be completely realistic, but close enough for government work.

(Do you see what I did there?)

9.  What I’m listening to

Nothing special right now.  Maybe this would be a good time to try something new?

10.  What I’m wearing

This is the winter of leggings and tunics.  Yes, they are cute.  It’s also out of necessity; my jeans from last year simply don’t work, and I don’t have time to find jeans that do.  (Why is the process of finding the right jeans so terrifying?  I think I would rather get fitted for a formal gown!)  (Not that I have any desire or reason to get fitted for a formal gown.)

11.  What I’m doing this weekend

I am pretty excited about this weekend!  As much as I love this new, more relaxed life, I have been really itching to get out and work some.  With Josh’s permission, I sent out an email to friends/clients in Tallahassee to see if I were to come down this month if anyone would be interested in some pictures at the Lighthouse.  The interest was there, so this weekend, I’m headed to my Lighthouse!!!

12.  What I’m looking forward to next month

That’s exciting, too!!!  A while back, Jackie and I were talking about how we really wanted to do a road trip with our kids like Big Mama and Gulley.  We had already tentatively planned to make it happen for Spring Break 2017 when Cynthia moved really close to Jackie.  So we asked her if she was in, and she was!

So, I don’t want to ruin too much now, but I’ll go ahead and let those that follow me on Instagram know…

brace-yourself-spring-zkkgjb

13.  What else is new

I started doing a Bible study on Thursday mornings called Moms with Swords.  They offer a class during the same time slot for homeschool kids, and I thought that I should give it a try for at least a semester.

I’ve got to be honest, I was a little skeptical about it being a good fit for us because A) I am already doing a Bible study with some ladies from church, and there’s only so much one girl can study, and B) I was really nervous about losing that time that we could do schoolwork.  We have been able to move at a more relaxed pace this year, which has been really nice!

But I’ve got to say that, so far, I think we are all really enjoying the experience.  God is using the study to help me examine my own heart in a way that I have not in a long time, and the kids genuinely want to go.

So here’s to getting out of our comfort zones and trying new things that require us to get dressed and leave our houses.

Even if it means missing second breakfast.

 

aragorn-meme_o_1298453

 

One thought on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. I just read your post about your dishwasher and I think I need to go grate some cheese right now! I have always hand washed our cheese grater — I’ve never thought about putting it in the dishwasher!!!! This could be life changing for me!

    That’s awesome that you’re getting ready for a 10k!! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

